handshake contract conclusion consulting POS point of saleThe insurance industry faces the Herculean challenge of applying the requirements of the IDD (Insurance Distribution Directive) to company processes. The EU implementing act concerning the IDD has been in effect since 23 February 2018, and all requirements must be fully met no later than October 2018. For insurance companies, besides the sales of insurances, new areas of activity open up in company divisions such as product development, IT, compliance, and legal. For insurance sales, this means mastering the change from product to consultative selling. Full consulting transparency at the Point of Sale (POS).

What are the implications of IDD for insurance companies?

The primary objective of the Directive is to improve consumer protection by guaranteeing needs-based consulting and fulfilling extended documentation obligations. To counteract the negative image of bad consulting and the brokerage of individually inappropriate insurance products, the Europe-wide Directive is meant to lay the foundation for customer-focused consulting and needs assessment. Insurance companies, brokers and agencies must ensure – yes,compliance with the IDD is mandatory! – they provide customers with the insurance products they really need. Consequently, in the future, it must be possible for insurance customers to trace when and why they made a product decision.

With regard to compliance with IDD requirements, insurance companies are confronted by an enormous amount of work. The internal need for action goes far beyond the sale of insurance products. The IDD comprises new subject-related and organisational requirements that must be met across company divisions. Aspects such as the structurisation of internal product approval procedures, staff qualifications and training programmes, adaptation of remuneration systems and disclosure requirements concern virtually all parts of the company. As the IDD is still in its introduction phase at the moment, it will also be necessary in the future to continuously observe and implement regulatory developments.

However, besides all the obligations and efforts, the IDD also offers insurance companies a lot of opportunities. Beyond consumer protection and customer satisfaction, the IDD is the spring board for increased consulting quality and successful brokerage at all levels of consulting. The Directive could serve as an impetus to optimise internal consulting processes and sales channels, adapt existing insurance products or even develop new ones and update supporting consulting systems.

Full transparency at the point of sale

The IDD especially forces the consulting staff at the point of sale to radically change the way they think and act because it is here that from now on full transparency must reign with regard to the obligation to inform customers. Prior to consulting them, consultants must give customers transparent and comprehensive information about the amount of fees, commissions or non-monetary benefits for the provision of brokerage services. Of course, this also includes potential bonuses paid to the consultant.

In addition, the Directive includes additional consulting obligations for sales employees. For instance, consulting, including every single contract offered, must be provided in accordance with the wishes and needs of the customers. As a consequence, any personal recommendation made to customers must be explained accordingly. When recommending investment products, consultants must ensure they take the knowledge and experience of customers, their financial situation, loss-bearing capacity, investment objectives and risk tolerance into account. Moreover, all process steps must be sufficiently documented during consulting in a way customers are able to understand. The extended documentation obligations – a key aspect of the IDD – is a further characteristic of full transparency at the POS.

This means that the IDD is the starting shot for a new age of consulting and documentation. As of now, high-quality consulting and documentation will play an indispensable role at the point of sale.

What exactly are the requirements of the IDD?

A sustainable, IDD-compliant consulting process fulfils the following obligations:

  • Information about the broker: introduction (first information about broker)
  • Obligation to ask questions: wishes, needs, target market (scope of consulting)
  • Obligation to provide consulting: analysis of current coverage, recommendation (analysis of needs)
  • Obligation to state reasons: consulting proposal considering the wishes and needs,suitability and appropriateness, actual situation of the customer and target market
  • Extended documentation obligations: comprehensive documentation and conclusion

IDD, information about the broker, obligation to ask questions, obligation to provide consulting, obligation to state reasons, documentation obligations

 

In a nutshell: To be able to continue with the legally compliant brokerage of insurance products, it is essential to redesign consulting processes. Up to now, the consulting process at insurance companies has frequently been implemented in very different ways in the individual sales channels. In some cases, only part of the process steps are supported by software. There is no consistency throughout the entire consulting process. To comply with the requirements of the IDD to their full extent and provide customers with needs-based, customised recommendations, it is essential that the full consulting range be consistently supported by software. Such a consulting system helps you to meet all the above-mentioned requirements of the IDD, from the extended documentation obligations and personalised justification of your recommendation to the assessment of suitability and appropriateness. In response to the IDD, iS2 has developed the IDD-compliant consulting system VERA.neo. It complies with all requirements of the IDD and supports the consultant in providing customer-focused, needs-based consulting. VERA.neo can be seamlessly integrated in all processes of the insurance company and connects via data interface with surrounding systems such as CRM and quotation software.

We make your consulting process fit for the IDD

Software solutions for the consulting and sale of insurance products have been part of iS2’s core competencies since the very beginning. In our capacity as an experienced industry specialist for holistic, subject- and product-related consulting in all insurance segments, we support insurance companies with innovative software solutions for successful insurance sales.

Our IDD experts support you in meeting all the current requirements. Together with you, we develop sustainable solutions for qualified, consistent consulting at the POS. Subject-related consulting or technical integration of the IDD provisions in your consulting workflow with VERA.neo – together we will make your consulting process fit for the EU Directive.

 

Related links

Specialist article “IDD at the point of sale“ by iS2

Expert interview “Consulting 4.0. At eye level with digitalisation“

Insurance company “Bayerische” uses VERA.neo by iS2

LV1871 uses suitability and appropriateness assessment by iS2

handshake Vertragsabschluss Beratung POS point of saleDie Versicherungsbranche steht vor der Herkulesaufgabe, die Anforderungen der IDD (Insurance Distribution Directive) auf die Unternehmensprozesse zu übertragen. Das EU-Umsetzungsgesetz der IDD ist bereits am 23. Februar 2018 in Kraft getreten, die Vorgaben müssen bis spätestens Oktober 2018 vollumfänglich umgesetzt sein. Für Versicherungsunternehmen ergeben sich neben dem Versicherungsvertrieb Handlungsfelder in Unternehmensbereichen wie Produktentwicklung, IT, Compliance und Recht. Für den Versicherungsvertrieb bedeutet das konkret, den Wandel vom Produkt- zum Beratungsverkauf zu meistern. Für die Beratung volle Transparenz am Point of Sale (POS).

Was bedeutet die IDD für Versicherungsunternehmen?

Die IDD sorgt in erster Linie für einen verbesserten Verbraucherschutz durch die Sicherstellung bedarfsgerechter Beratungen und erweiterter Dokumentationspflichten. Entgegen dem Negativimage um Fehlberatungen und die Vermittlung individuell ungeeigneter Versicherungsprodukte soll die europaweite Richtlinie die Basis für eine kundenzentrierte Beratung und Bedarfsermittlung legen. Versicherungsgesellschaften, Vermittler und Agenturen müssen auf diese Weise sicherstellen – und ja, IDD ist Pflicht! –, dass der Kunde auch wirklich den Versicherungsschutz erhält, den er tatsächlich benötigt (sein Bedarf). Demzufolge muss es für den Versicherungskunden künftig zwingend nachvollziehbar sein, wie und weshalb es zu einer Produktentscheidung gekommen ist.

Bei der Ausgestaltung der Anforderungen durch die IDD sehen sich Versicherungsunternehmen mit gewaltigen Aufwandsposten konfrontiert. Der interne Handlungsbedarf geht dabei weit über den Vertrieb von Versicherungsprodukten hinaus. Die IDD bringt neue fachliche und organisatorische Anforderungen mit sich, die es bereichsübergreifend zu bewältigen gilt. Aspekte wie die Strukturierung interner Produktgenehmigungsverfahren, Mitarbeiterqualifikationen und –weiterbildungen, Anpassung der Vergütungssysteme und Offenlegungspflichten betreffen nahezu alle Unternehmensbereiche. Da die IDD aktuell noch in der Einführungsphase steht, bedarf es auch künftig die regulatorischen Entwicklungen dauerhaft zu beobachten und umzusetzen.

Neben allen Pflichten und Aufwandsposten offeriert die IDD Versicherungsunternehmen aber auch zahlreiche Chancen. Über den Verbraucherschutz und die Kundenzufriedenheit hinaus stellt die IDD das Sprungbrett für gesteigerte Beratungsqualität und Vermittlungserfolg auf allen Beratungsebenen bereit. Die Richtlinie kann zum Anlass genommen werden, interne Beratungsprozesse und Vertriebswege zu optimieren, bestehende Versicherungsprodukte anzupassen oder gar neue zu entwickeln, sowie unterstützende Beratungssysteme auf den neusten Stand zu bringen.

Volle Transparenz am Point of Sale

Die IDD zwingt insbesondere die Beratung am Point of Sale zum radikalen „Umdenken und -handeln“. Denn hier herrscht ab sofort volle Transparenz, was die Informationspflicht an die Kunden anbelangt. Der Berater muss den Kunden künftig bereits vor der Beratung „bezüglich des Betrags der Vergütung, Gebühren, Provisionen oder nicht monetärer Vorteile in Bezug auf die Erbringung von Vermittlungsleistungen“ transparent und vollumfänglich informieren. Dies betrifft selbstverständlich auch eventuell anfallende Boni, die der Berater erhält.

Die Richtlinie bringt außerdem zusätzliche Beratungspflichten für Vertriebsmitarbeiter mit sich. So muss die Beratung, damit auch jeder einzelne angebotene Vertrag, analog zu den Wünschen und Bedürfnissen des Kunden erfolgen. Die persönliche Empfehlung an den Kunden ist dementsprechend zu erläutern. Bei der Empfehlung von Anlageprodukten muss der Berater darüber hinaus sicherstellen, dass die Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen des Kunden, seine finanzielle Situation, Verlusttragfähigkeit, die Anlageziele sowie seine Risikobereitschaft berücksichtigt wurden. Darüber hinaus müssen alle Prozessschritte der Beratung ausreichend, verständlich und für den Kunden nachvollziehbar dokumentiert werden. Die erweiterten Dokumentationspflichten als zentraler Bestandteil der IDD sind ein weiteres Merkmal für die volle Transparenz am POS.

Die IDD ist also der Startschuss in ein neues Beratungs- und Dokumentationszeitalter. Am Point of Sale werden qualitativ hochwertige Beratung und Dokumentation ab sofort eine unverzichtbare Rolle spielen.

Was fordert die IDD konkret?

Ein ganzheitlicher IDD-konformer Beratungsprozess erfüllt demnach folgende Pflichten:

  • Vermittlerselbstauskunft: Vorstellung (Vermittlererstinformation)
  • Fragepflicht: Wünsche, Bedürfnisse, Zielmarkt (Beratungsumfang)
  • Beratungspflicht: Analyse der Ist-Situation der Absicherung, Empfehlung (Bedarfsanalyse)
  • Begründungspflicht: Beratungsvorschlag unter Berücksichtigung der Wünsche und Bedürfnisse,
    Geeignetheit und Angemessenheit, Ist-Situation des Kunden und Zielmarkt
  • Erweiterte Dokumentationspflichten: Umfangreiche Dokumentation und Abschluss

Besprechung IDD Kompakt, Vermittlerauskunft, Fragepflicht, Beratungspflicht, Begründungspflicht, Dokumentationspflicht

Bedeutet im Klartext: Um Versicherungsprodukte weiterhin rechtskonform vermitteln zu können, ist eine Neugestaltung des Beratungsprozesses zwingend notwendig. Bis dato wird der Beratungsprozess bei Versicherungsgesellschaften in den einzelnen Vertriebswegen häufig sehr unterschiedlich umgesetzt. Oft wird nur ein Teil der Prozessschritte softwaretechnisch unterstützt, es liegt keine Durchgängigkeit über den gesamten Beratungsprozess vor. Um die Anforderungen aus IDD vollumfänglich erfüllen und dem Kunden eine bedarfsgerechte und kundenindividuelle Empfehlung aussprechen zu können, wird eine durchgängige softwaretechnische Unterstützung der Beratungsstrecken zwingend erforderlich sein. Ein solches Beratungssystem unterstützt bei der Einhaltung aller zuvor aufgeführten Pflichten durch die IDD, von den stark erweiterten Dokumentationspflichten über die personalisierte Begründung der Empfehlung bis hin zur Durchführung einer Geeignetheits- und Angemessenheitsprüfung. Als Reaktion auf die IDD hat iS2 das IDD-konforme Beratungssystem VERA.neo entwickelt. Es erfüllt alle Anforderungen der IDD und unterstützt den Berater bei einer kundenzentrierten, bedarfsorientierten Beratung. Dabei lässt es sich nahtlos in die Prozesse des Versicherers integrieren und verbindet sich über eine Datenschnittstelle mit den umgegebenen Systemen wie CRM-System und Angebotssoftware.

Wir machen Ihren Beratungsprozess fit für die IDD

Softwarelösungen für die Beratung und den Vertrieb von Versicherungsprodukten gehören seit der ersten Stunde zu den Kernkompetenzen von iS2. Als erfahrener Branchenspezialist für ganzheitliche, themen- und produktbezogene Beratung in allen Versicherungssparten unterstützen wir Versicherer mit innovativen Softwarelösungen für erfolgreichen Versicherungsvertrieb.

Unsere IDD-Experten unterstützen Sie beim souveränen Umgang mit den aktuellen Herausforderungen. Wir entwickeln gemeinsam mit Ihnen nachhaltige Lösungen für eine qualifizierte, durchgängige Beratung am POS. Ob Fachberatung oder technische Integration der IDD-Bestimmungen in Ihren Beratungs-Workflow mit VERA.neo – gemeinsam machen wir Ihren Beratungsprozess fit für die EU-Richtlinie.

 

Weiterführende Links

Fachartikel „IDD am Point of Sale“ von iS2

Experteninterview „Beratung 4.0. Auf Augenhöhe mit der Digitalisierung“

Die Bayerische nutzt VERA.neo von iS2

Die LV1871 nutzt Geeignetheits- und Angemessenheitsprüfung von iS2

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen